Sally Gearhart is my favorite author and The Wanderground completely woke me up to Lesbian.possibility on Land in Community and have felt that at Michfest!!! Also I have met her, she is a true Lesbian pioneer and gentle kind womon!!!!

O-blog-dee-o-blog-da

sally copy 2 SF Pride honoree Sally Gearhart. Photo: Melanie Nathan

San Francisco Pride has announced lesbian icon Sally Miller Gearhart as the recipient of the Heritage of Pride, Pride Freedom Award, as chosen by the SF Pride Board of Directors, for outstanding contributions to advancing civil rights and freedom for LGBTQ people.

“I am honored to receive the Heritage of Pride – Pride Freedom Award since I am familiar with the good works of San Francisco Pride. As an old timer who was present at our very first gay march, I am especially astounded by how far we’ve come — and by what we have gone through to get here,” noted Gearhart on hearing about her award.

Gearhart is a nationally renowned gay and lesbian rights activist, author and teacher, who grew up in the Appalachian mountains of Virginia.  She became the first open lesbian in the country to obtain a tenure-track…

View original post 267 more words

