Because Alix Dobkin and her music and writings is one of my sheros. I came up with her music as a baby dyke in the 80s and as long as my ex was alive
..no matter whom else we were with…we had a standing date to go to Alixx’s concerts everytime she was in town!!!

You think I just don't understand, but I don't believe you.

L-R, Cathy Brennan, Sally Tatnall, Alix Dobkin, 2012.

 “Ever since childhood, I have been honing my skills for living the life of a Radical Feminist Pirate and cultivating the Courage to Sin,” she wrote in the opening of “Sin Big.” …The word ‘sin’ is derived from the Indo-European root ‘es-,’ meaning ‘to be.’ When I discovered this etymology, I intuitively understood that for a woman trapped in patriarchy, which is the religion of the entire planet, ‘to be’ in the fullest sense is ‘to sin.’ “ – Mary Daly.

I first met Sally Tatnall in the early 1990s through one of my best friends, who happens to be related to Sally. In the early 1990s, I lived in Buffalo, New York, where I attended law school at SUNY Buffalo (yey state schools and affordable tuition!) We drove the three hours to Cleveland to visit the city and Sally, who…

View original post 1,211 more words

